Mathematics

Mathematics knows no races or geographic boundaries; for mathematics, the cultural world is one county.

Howard Eves Mathematical Circles Squared (Boston 1971)

I have this quote hanging on my classroom wall, I always have. I don’t remember the first time I read it, but each time I look at it I feel inspired.

So many subjects are subjective based on a person’s perspective. Mathematics is different. Many people solve problems differently, but the solution is always the same. We all end up in the same place. I think that is what I love about this quote. We all get to the same place no matter our differences. It may take one person twice as long as another, but the solution is always the same.

Leave a Reply

